Take Action!


Help us achieve our objectives of managed, ecologically sensitive access to the Ballona Wetlands Ecological Reserve and increased transparency and accountability in the restoration planning process by sending an e-mail or letter to the key decision makers below.

Via E-mail:

Please copy the below e-mail addresses into the appropriate To: and CC: lines of your e-mail as follows.

To: Director@wildlife.ca.gov

CC: tford@santamonicabay.org
Mary.Small@scc.ca.gov
mike.bonin@lacity.org
Ziegler.Sam@epa.gov
autumn.burke@asm.ca.gov
ben.allen@sen.ca.gov
sheila@bos.lacounty.gov
landtrust@ballona.org

Then, please write an e-mail message in your own words that conveys the basic message as written below:

Dear Director Bonham,

I urge you to grant managed, ecologically sensitive access to the Ballona Wetlands Ecological Reserve to long-time stakeholder groups like the Ballona Wetlands Land Trust to allow for much needed stewardship and educational activities. More than ten years after the ecological reserve was created, it remains largely neglected and under utilized as a natural resource. The Land Trust has the resources and experience necessary to create something positive in the ecological reserve in the short-term. They just need access in order to carry out this service to the ecosystem and surrounding communities.

I also urge you to adopt a more transparent, inclusive and accountable process for planning the long-awaited restoration project for the Ballona Wetlands Ecological Reserve The draft Environmental Impact Report has been delayed numerous times and is now many years behind schedule. The last public meeting hosted by the project team to discuss the restoration planning process was in August of 2012. It is important for the project team to maintain an open process that keeps the public informed throughout every phase of this important public project.

Sincerely,

[Your Name]
[Your Address]

Via Mail:

Please type a personal message using the points suggested above addressed to:

Charlton H. Bonham
Director, California Department of Fish and Wildlife
1416 Ninth Street, 12th Floor
Sacramento, CA 95814

Add the following text to the bottom of your letter:

CC: Tom Ford, Executive Director, Santa Monica Bay Restoration Commission
Mary Small, Deputy Executive Officer, State Coastal Conservancy
City Councilmember Mike Bonin
State Assemblywoman Autumn Burke
State Senator Ben Allen
Los Angeles County Supervisor Sheila Kuehl

Then mail it to:

Ballona Wetlands Land Trust
PO Box 5623
Playa del Rey, CA 90296

We will make copies for the additional recipients and send the original to Director Bonham at CA Fish and Wildlife. 

Thank you!